My book is available

Chris Bernat - Individualized Learning With TechnologyAs my first post I’d like to explain why I wrote this book and created this site. The focus is on adult learning principles and life-long learning which really mean the same thing. My interest in this area came first from my father, a professor of Education.

We had many interesting conversations over dinners and breakfasts at the local diner, back in the 90’s when he was newly retired and I was freshly out of college. My father was pretty good at reading trends. He saw learning in adulthood as a major paradigm shift of our times. This form of learning is really different than in the past when as frequent as 100 years ago, most everyone, except for a few wealthy “scholars”, left school by age 15 or earlier. What will this new thrust in more and older schooling mean? What will it all entail?

Adult learning is most definitely different than childhood learning, and it will require completely new ideas about learning and education. The old ways of mass uniform schooling will most definitely not work for adults, and in most cases it won’t work for adolescents either. It is of paramount importance to ourselves and for our country that we explore these issues, and that is what I intend to do with this blog and site.

My book is available from Roman and Littlefield and the following retailers:

Barnes & Noble

Amazon

Google Play

Powells Books

About chbernat

I am a technical writer and instructional designer. I have an intense interest in adult learning and instructional design principles. I greatly feel that adults need to take control of their own learning in order to advance their knowledge and skills throughout life.
This entry was posted in Books, Individualized Learning, Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

